Words and Images from Ed Felker

A Year in Photos


On the morning of January 2nd, I was sitting at my desk at home and this wonderful scene unfolded as a nondescript, grey sky opened up in two places. Behind me, the sun illuminated my favorite sycamore, and by the time I grabbed my camera a second spot was opening in the sky behind it. As I put camera to eye and finger to shutter, a lone dove crossed the frame and my first photograph of 2011 was captured. I watched quite a bit of this year pass by through a camera viewfinder. Below are some of my other favorites from this year.
On a hike along the 'Yough,' or Youghiogheny River in Pennsylvania, I watched some crazy kayakers running the falls. I took a lot of photos but this was my favorite.

Taking a break from fly fishing at Rose River Farm to enjoy a river cooled Dale's Pale Ale.
Although I don't have the best lens for it, I enjoyed getting up close and personal with some smaller subjects this year.
I rarely take photos of people, and I'm seldom around kids. But on this day I was pleasantly surprised at the image I captured of our friends' boy August. One of my very favorite portraits I've taken.
Our weeping cherry tree, weeping.
One of 2011's major highlights was the addition of Huck and Poppy, miniature mediterranean donkeys. God I love these donkeys.
I had some great opportunities this year to photograph events with special access. The Fairfax Hunt invited me to one of their meets, and this is my favorite shot of the day. If this doesn't say "Virginia," I don't know what does!
Project Healing Waters founder Ed Nicholson being interviewed at the annual 2-Fly Tournament at Rose River Farm in Syria, VA.
For a dog who doesn't particularly like the cold (or to be outside, for that matter), Winnie loves the snow more than any dog I've ever known.
On a visit to the World War II Memorial in Washington, I was disappointed that the fountains and pools were emptied for winter. But I did end up with a few shots that I liked from the nearby Washington Monument.
This year I started experimenting with low light photography. I have MUCH to learn, but it really is pretty fun. This is my friend's home at Rose River Farm.
When people meet Winnie for the first time, they almost always remark about her eyes.
Well this snapshot is a technical disaster. But sometimes a failed photo ends up looking pretty damn cool.
This lightning storm across the Potomac from our house went on for over an hour. I was lucky enough to get a few neat shots, but this was my favorite.
From the pond view cabin at Rose River Farm, Madison County, VA.
I'll admit, with horses, dogs, donkeys and wildlife around, I rarely train the camera on the barn cats. But they are really cool, and I love this picture of Fishy.
I love the freedom the little waterproof camera gives me when I'm fishing or playing with the dogs at the river.
On this night I was trying to get a shot of a meteor. I saw a few but didn't get pictures of any. However, it was a good opportunity to experiment some more with the low light settings.
I love reflections, but don't often enough focus on them. I'll try more of this in 2012.
Hiking around the Rapidan in Madison County, VA I happened across this fly fisherman. The scene was so busy with bare tree branches all around, I couldn't capture the feel of the scene until I switched to black and white. I'll have to remember to try this more often, either at the time I'm taking the picture or later at the computer.
 

4 responses

  1. I love that black and white photo of your dog. What program did you use for the conversion, or did you do it in camera?

    December 22, 2011 at 5:03 am

    • Hey thanks! That snow picture I shot in b/w mode. I was actually getting frustrated with uninteresting snow photos so I shot in black and white all day and really liked a lot of the results. But most of the time I will convert using Aperture. Some images I just can’t do well in that though so I’ll go to Photoshop. Thanks again for your comment.

      December 22, 2011 at 5:09 am

      • Cool! I’ll have to try shooting some b/w in the snow sometime, I like the feel it gives. Your welcome for the comment, thanks for sharing the photos!

        December 22, 2011 at 5:14 am

  2. Congratulations on getting this up and running, Ed. Beautiful work – great layout – will look forward to following this blog as it evolves!

    December 22, 2011 at 3:38 pm

Leave a Reply

