Words and Images from Ed Felker

360 Degrees

I like to take pictures, but I don’t always have or even want to have my camera with me. So it’s been really fun having my new iPhone 4S along to capture those special moments in between photo outings. Lately I’ve been particularly enjoying two special apps that make photography even more fun: Hipstamatic, and 360 Panorama. (I’ll write more about Hipstamatic in another post.) 360 Panorama from Occipital is easy to use. Once you take your 360-degree photo, you can upload and share it. If someone has the 360 app on their phone or iPad they can view it directly through the app, or you can share a browser based version. But for those who have the app, there is an amazing gyroscopic feature that allows you to hold up your phone or iPad and move it around freely and view the scene exactly as it was viewed and photographed. It’s magical.

This morning I had to pull over and catch this incredible sunrise. To scroll through the scene in 360 degrees, click on this link.

I recently hiked Maryland Heights with my dogs, and when we got to the summit, a stone fort from the civil war, I took this 360-degree shot. To view it interactively, click on this link.

These panoramic views are not just cool for outdoor scenery. This one was taken at the Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center, more conveniently known as the Smithsonian Air & Space museum at Dulles Airport. To view this one interactively, click on this link.

Have fun with your phone! It’s not just for texting anymore! And if you try your own 360 Panorama images, please share the link in a comment here.

One response

  1. Enjoying your blog Ed! Thanks for sharing.

    January 4, 2012 at 11:55 am

Leave a Reply

