Words and Images from Ed Felker

Vultures at Dawn

The most noteworthy meteorological feature of this winter so far has been spectacular sunrises and sunsets. This week alone I have seen several of the most outrageously colored sunrises I have ever seen in my life. So this morning when I left the house I brought my camera, just in case.

I was treated to a spectacular color show, and stopped at a few spots to try my luck at capturing it. A graveyard, a church, cows in a pasture, all under the bright red blanket of morning. Truth is, though, when I got the images back home and put them on the computer, they all started looking the same. Except this one, taken as the color was waning, after I had given up and just decided to proceed to the office.

Some black vultures, the less common of the two common varieties in this area, gathered in a tree. Maybe roosting, maybe just waiting for me to pass to feast on yet another venison breakfast, I don’t know. But their silhouettes caught my eye and I backed up to take the picture with the nuclear sunrise still visible on the horizon. It was a throwaway shot, I never even got out of the car to shoot it, but it’s my favorite of the morning.

One response

  1. I like this!! Beautiful start to a day.

    January 16, 2012 at 6:38 pm

Leave a Reply

