Words and Images from Ed Felker

Portrait of a Brunch

As a graphic designer, I don’t often get an assignment that has me grabbing the keys and running out the door like a small town beat reporter responding to a fire down at the old mill. But I have loved and enjoyed both the original Leesburg, Virginia Wine Kitchen and their newest Frederick, Maryland location for as long as they’ve been open, and the brunch at the Frederick restaurant is among the very best meals I’ve ever had at Wine Kitchen. Or anywhere, for that matter. So when my friend and client asked me to return for brunch to take some promotional photographs, I jumped at the opportunity. Below are some highlights both culinarily and photographically. Enjoy!

Cherry Coke cocktail.

Incredible, heavenly oatmeal.

Not gonna lie to you, as a lover of bacon, I have consumed far more than my fair share. And this is just flat out the most delicious bacon I’ve ever tasted.

Sausage gravy + fries = comfort food.

Bourbon. It’s not just for breakfast anymore.

How do you make shrimp better? Add grits.

Cinnamon. Hard to spell. Really, really easy to eat.

Quiche. Real men eat it. Especially when it contains mushrooms, caramelized onions and four parts of awesome.

I have not historically been fond of the Flying Dog beers, but this K9 Cruiser Winter Ale is right on the money. Loved it!

I love how this photo of sparkling wine turned out.

Truly gifted Chef Adam Harvey (right) busy at work.

Our extremely pleasant server, Mary, beautifully displaying my new Wine Kitchen t-shirt design. Visit Mayfly Design for more, albeit less interestingly displayed, design samples.

2 responses

  1. Great food photography, made me hungry 🙂

    January 18, 2012 at 4:02 am

  2. Nice, we’ll have to stop in and try it. If you find yourself in Baltimore, Woodberry Kitchen is very similar. Recommend you call ahead, if even just a few minutes, to make sure they have a table for you!

    February 21, 2012 at 12:39 am

Leave a Reply

