Words and Images from Ed Felker

Eagle Pictures and a Promise

There was so much eagle activity around our house this weekend I was determined to get a decent photo! These, to me, qualify. They are as good as I can do with the equipment available (which includes a borrowed zoom lens I have to return soon!).

This eagle sat perched in a tree within sight of my studio window. Several times he would arrive there and several times I would go outside, camera in hand. There were too many branches between him and I to get a clear shot, so I kept walking closer until he flew away. Then I’d try to focus and follow his flight, snapping away. If he flew away from me, I had no opportunity. If he flew out into this clearing, I had opportunity but never could get it all together for a good shot.

With these, I have decided if he chooses to grace our property again, I will not pester him until he gets uncomfortable and leaves. I feel bad about harassing him, and part of me feels like I’m cheating myself by experiencing these moments through a tiny shutter window. I love recording special moments with photos, but while I’m trying to capture them, I sometimes forget to see them.

So, Mr. Eagle, if you can forgive my clumsy attempt to show my appreciation for you by chasing you away, and if you should choose to visit my favorite sycamore again, next time you’ll never know I’m there. I promise to admire you from afar.

2 responses

  1. Very cool to see this in an urban setting. You may find them nesting near a source of water. Good luck and enjoy .

    February 6, 2012 at 12:19 pm

    • Thanks! Actually the photo is deceptively urban in appearance. We live in Virginia right on the Potomac River, in a very rural area. This eagle is above the river, and in the background there are houses from the town across the river in Maryland.

      February 6, 2012 at 12:26 pm

Leave a Reply

