Words and Images from Ed Felker

Point to Point


As I start to make plans to attend this spring’s Fairfax Hunt Races at Morven Park in Leesburg, Virginia, I found myself looking through last year’s photos. The event was an assignment, of sorts, as I was writing this story for Virginia Sportsman. As a result, I was granted access that allowed me to get in position to take some cool photos. Not all my favorites could make it into the story, so I thought I’d share them here. And if you live in the area, this year’s event is April 22. And, I am told by people in a position to know, that this spring’s meet will be the last race EVER at Morven Park! Enjoy…















10 responses

  1. Some fabulous photos there, Ed! That one of the hounds looking out of the trailer is “paint worthy” (e.g., gorgeous). Been to that race meet many many times, years ago. Does Sandy foxhunt?

    February 15, 2012 at 9:44 pm

    • Thanks so much! That is one of my very favorite shots from the day. Maybe my second favorite after the one at the top of the post, where the whole composition just fell into place for me. Sandy has been once, foxhunting. As an eventer, even she thinks foxhunters are crazy!

      February 15, 2012 at 9:51 pm

      • Well the ones who ride in first flight can be crazy! But like at Bull Run, we have a third flight which is all walk/trot, very laid back, and often third flight views more foxes than anyone else. It’s like a glorified trail ride in lovely clothes, with flasks passed around at many stops, and quite pleasant. I’ve never been one for the thrills and spills crowd, either. My mule likes to be at the very back where no one can run up on her (half) ass.

        February 16, 2012 at 9:59 am

        • I love mules, look forward to meeting yours! I promise I won’t make fun of her ears. 😉
          The Fairfax Hunt graciously invited me to tag along (in a vehicle) on a hunt, and I agree, the clothes and silver flasks are pretty neat! Drinking and sports: It’s not just for bowling anymore!

          February 16, 2012 at 10:11 am

          • Foxhunters: Drinkers with a riding problem. ‘Nuff said. 😉

            You will love my mule. She is an awesome beast. Here are some pics, if you’re interested. Of course, right now she more closely resembles a yak, because I didn’t body clip her this year.

            February 16, 2012 at 10:20 am

  2. I love these pictures, Ed. They also remind me, if you haven’t seen it, sometime check out Kubrick’s early film “The Killing” – it’s set at a racetrack; great racetrack photography. Like yours.

    February 16, 2012 at 7:58 am

    • I have not seen that, but I’ll look for it! Thanks for the recommendation and the kind words.

      February 16, 2012 at 9:06 am

  3. I really should go to one of these events. Do let me know of an upcoming one if you think of it. Sad I have not gone to see something like this or Polo as I babysat for the Vansants (who basically run Great Meadows? I think) and have invited me a lot. Some great shots here, I am surprised they let you get that first one as that is a vantage point that would seriously freak some horses out. But I guess when they are high strung anyway riders are used to it and not even noticing a change.
    Anna
    http://www.akginspiration.com

    February 16, 2012 at 9:35 am

    • I want to go to a polo match too!
      That first shot I was kneeling down on the inside rail, which is lined with people here and there all along that stretch. These horses do seem to be a bit ‘on edge,’ but none of them ever seemed to notice or care about me in the least.
      Remember a while back I said I was going to shoot at a really cool event, but it got postponed due to weather?? Well this Saturday I’ll hopefully be taking some unique shots! Stay tuned!

      February 16, 2012 at 9:41 am

  4. I love the one of the dogs at the end, all jumping in the water! Just love that one!

    February 20, 2012 at 10:32 pm

Leave a Reply

