Words and Images from Ed Felker

Falcons, Hawks and Lucky Rabbits


“I swear I’ve seen a lot of stuff in my life, but that…was…awesome.”

I know what you’re thinking. You’re thinking, “Really, Ed? Starting a blog post about the ancient art of falconry with a quote from Tommy Boy?” Well sometimes inspiration comes from unexpected places. And besides, I want to be able to capture all the web traffic from people who might Google the terms “Chris Farley” and “Rabbit Hawking” together.

When I learned the Virginia Falconers Association was having a meet not far from where I live (which was right after I learned that falconry was practiced at all in this part of the U.S.), I couldn’t wait to see what it was all about. I will be writing more about the sport and my day, but for now I wanted to share my favorite photos from this amazing experience. I hope you enjoy them.

(The beautiful bird pictured above is a first year, or “passage” Red-tailed Hawk named Kingsley. Thank you C.B.)

Gyrfalcon

A Gyrfalcon soars above rural Virginia.

Eva and Kira.

Eva with her Red-tailed Hawk Kira.

Harris Hawk

A close look at the beautiful Harris Hawk.

Eva King and Kira (Red-tailed Hawk)

Eva releases Kira in pursuit of rabbits.

Eva King and Kira (Red-tailed Hawk)

We spotted three rabbits, or possibly one rabbit three times. But came back empty handed. The closest encounter involved a rabbit almost running into Eva's feet, but Kira was tied up at the time.

Red-tailed Hawk.

Kira scanning the woods.

Red-tailed Hawk.

As the hunting party moved, Kira flew from tree to tree above us.

Gyrfalcon

Andrew's stunning Gyrfalcon, Arc.

Gyrfalcon

Arc sitting patiently for photos while Andrew answers questions.

Red-tailed Hawk.

Kira.

Hawks

The birds seemed to be used to each other as everyone met before the hunt. but the only birds that can hunt together are Harris Hawks like the one in the foreground here.

Red-tailed Hawk.

Even without the hunting, which was an incredible experience, just being close to birds of prey is unforgettable.

Red-tailed Hawk

Hawks (this is Kira the Red-tail) use their feet and talons to kill their prey. They are strong and wicked.

162 responses

  1. Absolutely awesome photos. I can’t wait to attend one of this group’s meets that permits public participation.

    February 20, 2012 at 10:29 am

  2. This is awesome work, Ed. And I really like your watermark.

    February 20, 2012 at 10:39 am

    • Thanks Daniel. I hope it’s not too distracting, I tried to make them tasteful and think about how to best apply it to each photo.

      February 20, 2012 at 2:01 pm

  3. Great photos as always Ed. Absolutely beautiful.
    So now when do you do a shoot with a falconer hunting with hawk and Wirehaired Vizsla? I know there are some of those out there!

    February 20, 2012 at 1:44 pm

    • Carolyn I’d sure love to do that! I saw a show on National Geographic TV of someone in the southwestern US who hunted with a Harris Hawk and a Wirehaired Vizsla!

      February 20, 2012 at 2:03 pm

      • Me & Floyd

        Ed – just get your ass over here next season, i know a man that hunts a Goshawk over all his HWV’s, all eight of them. You could take photo’s of them all day!

        February 20, 2012 at 3:04 pm

  4. LOVE your opening quote — perfectly appropriate!

    And WOW…what an experience. Stunning photos…

    🙂

    February 20, 2012 at 1:48 pm

  5. They’re so cute! :>

    February 20, 2012 at 1:48 pm

  6. Wow, excellent photography, Ed. Love the black and white especially! 🙂

    February 20, 2012 at 1:53 pm

    • I appreciate that, Snapshooter. That second image, even a little washed out from the sun, is one of my very favorites.

      February 20, 2012 at 2:05 pm

      • Yes that shot is my instant favorite. I live in a meighborhood witha street named Hawks Hill Drive. We have LOTs of beautiful redtails here as well as other small hawks. I love to watch them hunt the other birds. Kind of sounds morbid, but it is the cycle of life and thrilling!
        True Story:
        One day I was looking out my back door and I had just stuck my head out. It was an early afternoon and it had been raining. I was turning my head to look around and spotted one of the hawks sitting on the fence about 50 feet away. I stood very still, completely mezmerized. S/he never moved, not even a flinch. I did not either.
        I wished so much I had my camera, but some things are meant to be memories only. Anyway, I thought I could see s/he looking at me. Then all of a sudden, it flew directly toward me. I am telling you I could feel my soul soaring with this bird. It made a hard right just as it got to me, swooped by under the canopy that we have over the patio and off onto the wind.
        I still get chills when I think of the connection with this beautiful creature. I did not move either, I just stod still. I did not want him to hit the window if I moved…as if right? Bird of prey! Thank you for sharing. I am looking forward to more exploring of your blog! AmberLena

        February 21, 2012 at 12:19 pm

        • That’s fantastic! And I totally understand about some moments just meant to be memories. Recently I found myself pestering eagles where I live, only being able to photograph them as they flew away. I finally did get a nice shot or two, but then promised I’d leave them be and just watch them from afar.

          February 21, 2012 at 12:36 pm

          • Love that!!! I am posting you as my featured guest blog today. I try to do one per week and I just love yours! Thanks for the reply and enjoy FP…it is well deserved 🙂

            February 21, 2012 at 12:54 pm

  7. I’m a newcomer to your blog, and really like it a lot. Congratulations on being Freshly Pressed.

    Ronnie

    February 20, 2012 at 1:58 pm

    • Thank you so much! I’m glad you enjoy it. And I am super excited about making Freshly Pressed!! I have no idea how that happens but I’m psyched.

      February 20, 2012 at 2:06 pm

  8. Absolutely Stunning, many thanks for sharing!

    February 20, 2012 at 2:02 pm

  9. Nice job. I liked it.

    February 20, 2012 at 2:04 pm

  10. Beautiful, beautiful photography. Thanks for sharing!

    February 20, 2012 at 2:14 pm

  11. Beautiful photos and great commentary.
    We have a family of eagles that live in our neighbourhood…stunning to watch them soar and spy them perched at the top of trees. We’ve learned to recognize their call.

    February 20, 2012 at 2:14 pm

  12. Great photos – and such a variety of shots too. Very struck by the close shot of feathers and perching foot. Many thanks for posting them 😉

    February 20, 2012 at 2:17 pm

  13. Fia

    Wow! Amazing shots! :O

    http://bitterfia.wordpress.com

    February 20, 2012 at 2:29 pm

  14. All of your photos are beautiful, but the last, the sillouette, is most dramatic. Bien.

    February 20, 2012 at 2:35 pm

    • Thanks cgregory, it was really hard to get everything right on those action shots. So most of the time, I *didn’t* get everything right! (I took over 500 photos that day.) But the shot you mentioned, even though the lighting didn’t ‘work’ in the traditional sense, I was really psyched to get those talons in clear focus, with a nice light background behind them. Thank you for the kind words.

      February 20, 2012 at 2:39 pm

      • You really nailed it. Nice work!
        Cynthia

        February 20, 2012 at 2:58 pm

  15. Great post! I love birds of prey, so cool. I had seen one in real close action a couple of times. My favorite was when I was going to pick up my wife back when we were dating. I had just gotten out of my car when this Red Tailed Hawk spotted a squirrel in her front yard. The squirrel was about 15 feet away from her door and I was only about 30 feet from it. The hawk moved quick and pounced the little guy. With hardly a second passing the squirrel was dead and the hawk was flying off to find a place to eat his catch. Outstanding creatures, thanks for the post I enjoyed reading it.

    February 20, 2012 at 2:43 pm

    • It is amazing to see them doing what comes naturally, isn’t it Animockery? My wife and I were driving once and saw a hawk snatch a dove out of mid-air right above the highway. Just a poof of feathers, I doubt that dove even saw him coming! Nature is AWESOME.

      February 20, 2012 at 2:48 pm

  16. Carlie Chew

    Gorgeous pictures!

    February 20, 2012 at 2:49 pm

  17. Lovely photos 🙂 We love falcons and hawks!

    February 20, 2012 at 2:54 pm

  18. Beautiful photos, I live where the eagles nest in the winter and we also have a tonne of wild hawks. I could spend all day watching them.

    February 20, 2012 at 2:55 pm

  19. the images are great, especially the gyrfalcon flying out of the frame–the 2nd image. Beautiful. We live near Herring Run Park in Baltimore and see sharp shins and red tails & there is even a bald eagle. Lots of heron as well. I am not sure what to think of falconry, I’m not familiar with the sport, but these creatures were made to hunt. Nevertheless, it’s lovely to see them so up close & personal.

    February 20, 2012 at 3:00 pm

  20. I just had to give you a mention on Google+…hope it gets some new visitors here for ya. I have a bunch of amazing photographers in my circles.

    February 20, 2012 at 3:01 pm

  21. Beautiful images. While spending a long weekend doing bird photography along the Texas coast, I was lucky enough to get some photos of a red tail hawk sitting on a telephone pole.

    February 20, 2012 at 3:01 pm

  22. Kat

    What gorgeous animals!

    February 20, 2012 at 3:04 pm

  23. wonderful

    February 20, 2012 at 3:04 pm

  24. I like that, “Birds of prey”. I was also surprised that people gather around for this kind of thing like controlling hawks was a normal thing or something. The fact that they wait for photo shots also had me laughing cause it’s like you got them trained to be models or something, good work! -,o

    http://wp.me/2aAA8

    February 20, 2012 at 3:07 pm

  25. Thank you for sharing these beautiful birds. They’re great. Connie
    http://7thandvine.wordpress.com/

    February 20, 2012 at 3:12 pm

  26. Truly amazing animals, but I am struck by how beautiful “Arc” is – thanks for sharing this with us!

    February 20, 2012 at 3:16 pm

  27. What beautiful pictures! Lovely site. We have a guest ranch in Baja California, Mexico and we are a bird sanctuary too. We have red tailed hawks and a pair of golden eagles living on our property. I love to watch them.

    Caroline

    February 20, 2012 at 3:29 pm

  28. Gorgeous shots! I’ve always thought falconry was so interesting, with such a long history. And congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

    February 20, 2012 at 3:30 pm

  29. So awesome, I would love to see this! Where in VA was it? I’m from Virginia (grew up in WV right on the Potomac actually) and just stumbled across your blog being ‘Freshly Pressed’. I am now sure to become an avid follower!

    February 20, 2012 at 3:33 pm

  30. Cool, original post!

    February 20, 2012 at 3:44 pm

  31. I love birds and bird photography. It is wonderful to see these amazing birds. Wonderful post.

    February 20, 2012 at 3:52 pm

  32. What a wonderful series of shots… I especially like the shot of the Gryfalcon…

    February 20, 2012 at 4:12 pm

  33. Impressive photos

    February 20, 2012 at 4:33 pm

  34. Wonderful post!! There’s nothing like being out in the field with a raptor! My Dad is a falconer, so I grew up with Falcons and Hawks in the house during the manning process, and baby falcons and owls running around the house. I hope to be a falconer someday myself. 🙂 Just need more time! lol

    February 20, 2012 at 4:57 pm

  35. How absolutely fascinating and a fabulous experience. Wonderful captures that you have.

    February 20, 2012 at 5:10 pm

  36. Birds of prey are both powerful and beautiful. Thank you for sharing your experience with us ~ Beth

    February 20, 2012 at 5:13 pm

  37. Wow! Really beautiful!

    February 20, 2012 at 5:31 pm

  38. Great photos!

    February 20, 2012 at 5:36 pm

  39. Beautiful photos! I am a WordPress photographer as well. Great job.

    February 20, 2012 at 5:45 pm

  40. Beautiful birds! The first shot is perfect.

    February 20, 2012 at 5:45 pm

  41. Must have been an amazing experience. Beautiful shots, especially the silhouette of Kira (the last shot). Thanks for sharing!

    February 20, 2012 at 5:53 pm

  42. Great photos, especially the first!

    I thoroughly enjoy the birds of prey around here but some can be pretty hard on our baby calves and others really like our barn cats. We just do our best to peacefully coexist which is not too difficult since they are such stunning creatures.

    February 20, 2012 at 5:57 pm

  43. Amazing birds beautifully captured – esp. like the last silhouette!

    February 20, 2012 at 6:24 pm

  44. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words

    Absolutely Breathtaking…!
    Thank you for sharing!

    )0(
    maryrose

    February 20, 2012 at 6:31 pm

  45. Beautiful pictures! Love falcons… love bird in general, for that matter. 🙂
    Thanks so much!

    February 20, 2012 at 6:34 pm

  46. Hawks are responsible for maintaining rabbit and squirrel populations under control.

    February 20, 2012 at 7:01 pm

  47. Thank you for highlighting these majestic beings. I have had the privilege of befriending various species of Birds of Prey, and always I am amazed at how open they are to dialogue with humans.

    February 20, 2012 at 7:09 pm

  48. Breath taking phtography

    February 20, 2012 at 7:15 pm

  49. Hawks are awesome! beautifull pics thanks!

    February 20, 2012 at 7:35 pm

  50. I love falcons and hawks and this post reminded me of the times I saw them when I was a little kid. Thanks for that. 🙂

    February 20, 2012 at 7:52 pm

  51. Very professional photos. Very moving. Thanks for the treat!

    February 20, 2012 at 7:58 pm

  52. Love these photos. I always wish I could do falconry. How would I get started?

    February 20, 2012 at 8:24 pm

  53. Incredible creatures, aren’t they? If you jump over to White Sulphur Springs, WVa, they have a program at The Greenbrier where they let you ‘handle’ the falcons. It was quite a feeling having one land on my arm….Good pictures!

    February 20, 2012 at 8:29 pm

  54. Your hawk is beautiful. My son was a falconer prior to his untimely death this past July. His first bird was a red tail he named odd ball. OB for short. He also had a sparrow hawk named Pip. The photos are great. I went with him when the N.C. group met down in the piedmont of N.C. I wrote some about our adventures in my blog. Many days searching for that first bird – ball catchery and mice in tow. I look forward to more pictures.

    February 20, 2012 at 8:44 pm

  55. So beautiful!

    February 20, 2012 at 9:13 pm

  56. I was intensely delighted not only at the stunning photography, which is something I always love and appreciate, and not only by the fierce beauty of these birds, but also simply by seeing a bit of Virginia again. I’m away in Scotland until August, which is of course a wonderful adventure in itself, but I do miss lovely VA.

    February 20, 2012 at 9:26 pm

  57. reinaldobanh

    Reblogged this on reinaldobanh and commented:
    Cool, man. :0

    February 20, 2012 at 9:44 pm

  58. My fav is the gyrfalcon shot. And no, I didn’t find you due to the Chris Farley quote.

    February 20, 2012 at 9:57 pm

  59. Ooooh, so breathtaking. I am fascinated by falconry. Ever since I read “My Side of the Mountain” in elementary school, it’s captured my imagination. These photos are stunning, I’ll have to look and see if we have any falcon meets here in Texas.

    My only experience with these magnificent creatures has been the bird show at the Texas State Fair (not bad, actually), and the show at Medieval Times. That might sound dumb but it’s quite well-done. The way they introduce it is a guy is standing in the center of the arena, and the voice over says “FALCONRY, THE SPORT…OF KINGS!” and he releases the bird to a swell of music and….oh, it really is the sport of kings…

    I’m being serious! Medieval Times is AWESOME!!! I think I sound silly now. I’ll stop.

    February 20, 2012 at 10:01 pm

    • I don’t think that’s silly. There’s a Bass Pro Shop I like to go to kind of near me, and a medieval times right next door. Every time I’m there I think I really want to check it out. I think the jousting would be cool, but I didn’t know they had a falcon thing too!

      February 21, 2012 at 7:58 am

      • I think it might be a fairly new feature. You should def check it out if you have one near you!

        February 21, 2012 at 2:42 pm

  60. Wow! I see these birds all the time flying wild above the ranch. Oh wait I should clarify that, I see wild hawks, and Bald Eagles and other birds of prey all the time. They never cease to amaze me. Your pictures are amazing too! You should come to California sometime and take pictures in the north state. It is amazing here! I literally have like 200-300 different species of birds that come and go out in the fields right behind my house! I drive down the road and there are vultures hanging on fence posts on dreary dark days conjuring up ones imagination of some prehistoric day. I have a pair of bald eagles that fly over my house as they are nested on a high tower near by.

    Oh can you tell I am loving where I live. I left this place some 20 odd years ago, and in the next month or two I will be leaving again, but I am loving every moment of being here. We use to have a bald eagle that flew over my home that is about 5 miles from my present home, and some idiot back then shot it and killed it. I was so sad when that happened, but I am joyed because a new pair has replaced and come to live on this ranch.

    Keep posting such beautiful pictures! I am a new follower of yours now!

    Peace and Harmony,
    Sj

    February 20, 2012 at 10:09 pm

  61. longing4home

    Hawks are such beautiful creatures. They always capture my attention when I see them in the sky around here.

    February 20, 2012 at 10:11 pm

  62. Pics are amazing!

    February 20, 2012 at 10:28 pm

  63. Reblogged this on MyDestiny2011 and commented:
    These pictures are really nice. Congrats! Keep it up and I am following you . Hv a great day!! And thank you for letting me share this.

    February 20, 2012 at 10:31 pm

  64. Reblogged this on Gil Burgos Ministries and commented:
    “But these you may not eat: the eagle, the vulture, the black vulture, the red kite, the black kite, any kind of falcon…” Deut 14:12-13, NIV

    February 20, 2012 at 10:31 pm

  65. elmediat

    You have some superb compositions posted here. The head portraits are very intense and beautifully detailed.

    February 20, 2012 at 10:32 pm

  66. Awesome photos!

    February 20, 2012 at 10:33 pm

  67. Absolutely Amazing Photos.

    February 20, 2012 at 11:47 pm

  68. *Like* very, very much. Thank you for sharing these!

    February 21, 2012 at 12:01 am

  69. Reblogged this on Shaggygirl and commented:
    I was working on a post for today and found this blog and had to share. I love Falconry and these shots are absolutely fantastic. These birds are so magnificant. I once held an Owl but a Falcon or Hawk would be sensational. Hope you enjoy. Ed Felker – I am amazed.

    February 21, 2012 at 12:06 am

  70. Reblogged this on lisparc.

    February 21, 2012 at 12:06 am

  71. wooooooooooow

    February 21, 2012 at 12:35 am

  72. You just blogged about my dream! At least I can live it vicariously while I’m in college. I’m so glad this was pressed.

    February 21, 2012 at 1:19 am

  73. Kira is absolutely beautiful. I love the red tail, here in Puerto Rico we called them “Guaraguao”, named by the Taino Indians, and are very common.

    February 21, 2012 at 1:54 am

  74. Only A hunter can know how awesome this is 🙂

    February 21, 2012 at 2:05 am

  75. awesome photos….

    February 21, 2012 at 2:30 am

  76. beautiful birds
    nice photos, especialy close shots

    February 21, 2012 at 2:33 am

  77. Terii

    Gorgeous photos and wonderful post! Grats on getting FP!

    I knew several falconers in the States years ago. Breathtaking to be near the birds, especially a golden eagle. Silly me, never got pictures though.

    February 21, 2012 at 2:43 am

  78. love the pics…..

    I honestly wish that I had a falcon but the rules in India donot allow us to own one or keep one as a pet.

    February 21, 2012 at 4:05 am

  79. Wow – AMAZING PHOTO”S! Saw a fish eagle really close on the weekend, and as it flew off I couldn’t focus my lens fast enough to catch it!

    February 21, 2012 at 4:36 am

  80. Keith Eliot

    Very impressive photographs. Thanks for putting these up.

    February 21, 2012 at 5:03 am

  81. All I can say of your photos and the subject matters…. Majestic!

    February 21, 2012 at 5:06 am

  82. Magnificent birds. Great shots. Thanks for sharing them with us

    February 21, 2012 at 5:49 am

  83. hamayunrasheed

    Brilliant photography.

    February 21, 2012 at 6:43 am

  84. hamayunrasheed

    Reblogged this on hamayunrasheed and commented:
    Exquisite Photography.

    February 21, 2012 at 6:44 am

  85. Simply fantastic. The photos look alive.

    February 21, 2012 at 7:35 am

  86. Absolutely gorgeous photos, thank you for sharing 🙂

    February 21, 2012 at 7:40 am

  87. oh my! those are incredible photos… love it!

    February 21, 2012 at 7:56 am

  88. VIJAYAKRISHNAN.K

    Great Photos Buddy…nice collection…improve your self

    February 21, 2012 at 8:05 am

  89. Stunning! Thanks for sharing!!

    February 21, 2012 at 8:07 am

  90. beautiful birds… these are my favorites. I wish I could get one someday..

    February 21, 2012 at 8:36 am

  91. WendyRoo

    Breathtaking photos. We have a hawk in our backyard. What regal birds.

    I love the shot of the Gryfalcon, Arc, directly overhead. The coloring on the underpart of the tail looks like eyes and beak! What a great shot.

    Thanks for the inspiration.

    February 21, 2012 at 8:47 am

  92. Great Pics!

    February 21, 2012 at 8:59 am

  93. When I lived in the country there was a mating pair of Red tails living around my house. I would lie on my lounge chair and watch them ride the wind. These beautiful birds of prey remind me of them.

    February 21, 2012 at 9:06 am

  94. Essas águias são lindas e inteligentes. Sabem como atacar uma presa menor e uma maior. Os galos-de-briga também usam a inteligência para atacar e se defender do adversário. Adoro a luta das aves que raciocinam para vencer o inimigo. Esse tipo de animal merece todo respeito e admiração da humanidade, pois a natureza gastou milhões de anos para conceder-lhes a inteligência como arma de defesa. A sobrevivência do galo-de-briga só será possível através da administração direta do homem. Se fossem soltos em coletividade, extinguir-se-iam brigando. Para preservar sua existência, o homem desportista deve conservar cada lutado em seu boxe. Creio que o falcão também não sobreviveria sem a administração direta do homem. Essas aves são espécies nobilíssimas que tem que ser preservadas nos termos exigidos pela natureza. Não se deve confundir o galo-de-briga com o galo de corte criado em granja.

    February 21, 2012 at 9:09 am

  95. O texto acima escrito sobre águias e galo-de-briga está totalmente truncado. Se não for possível corrigir os erros, solicito não publicá-lo.

    February 21, 2012 at 9:14 am

  96. These pictures are amazing! They are such beautiful creatures.

    February 21, 2012 at 9:43 am

  97. Nice image

    February 21, 2012 at 10:10 am

  98. I apologize for having difficulty keeping up with all the generous comments here. The ‘Freshly Pressed’ designation has been such a wonderful surprise, and I greatly appreciate each and everyone who visited, liked, or followed my blog. Thank you!

    February 21, 2012 at 11:45 am

  99. alice pngen .....

    Reblogged this on http://www.blogjelex.tk.

    February 21, 2012 at 11:48 am

  100. Hammad

    Magnificent !

    February 21, 2012 at 11:59 am

  101. Beautiful pics of an amazing activity…Thanks for the inspiration! I’m trying to incorporate more aspects of falconry into my own blogging…If pictures are worth a thousand words, you’ve blogged for me well into the future!

    February 21, 2012 at 12:26 pm

  102. Nice shots. I like photographing Peregrine Falcons in the wild, so it’s cool to see a piece on falcons and photography here on WordPress. 🙂

    February 21, 2012 at 12:29 pm

  103. Reblogged this on peregrinetheology and commented:
    Captured my thoughts and desire this morning…

    February 21, 2012 at 12:29 pm

  104. I didn’t know falconry was practiced in the US outside of zoos and conservation spots. It’s great to know that this sport (not sure exactly what to call it) still has participants, because it’s fun to watch. Beautiful photos.

    February 21, 2012 at 12:47 pm

  105. What beautiful images. I would love an opportunity to shoot these amazing animals.

    February 21, 2012 at 1:06 pm

  106. readinggirl

    Reblogged this on readinggirl1976 and commented:
    Amazing!!! 😀 I also love owls, fascinated by Hawks and Falcons!!

    February 21, 2012 at 1:08 pm

  107. Gorgeous raptor photos! I enjoyed roaming around your website and reading your articles. Congratulations on Freshly Pressed, and I’m glad to have discovered your blog. I will enjoy following you, and perhaps our paths will cross one of these days as I see we’re neighbors and attend some of the same events!

    February 21, 2012 at 1:19 pm

    • Thanks so much! And yeah, I was thinking the same thing, I bet our paths will cross! My wife is an eventer, and although it makes me very nervous and I can’t always go to her shows, I am sometimes there, hiding my face behind my camera.

      February 21, 2012 at 1:22 pm

      • I find that is my favorite place as well! But I’m sure she appreciates your great photos of her…having your own pro photographer at an event would be better than any ribbon, in my opinion!

        February 21, 2012 at 1:28 pm

  108. Reblogged this on My Blog and commented:
    Feeling the love…… beautiful

    February 21, 2012 at 1:39 pm

  109. Spectacular images! We have red tail hawks in my part of the world….West Coast

    February 21, 2012 at 2:13 pm

  110. These pictures are stunning! I didn’t even know people still practiced falconry until stumbling across this post on Freshly Pressed. I look forward to reading your exposition about the day.

    February 21, 2012 at 2:22 pm

  111. Amazing photos. Absolutely beautiful animals.

    February 21, 2012 at 6:11 pm

  112. great shots.. I’m always fascinated by falconry..

    February 21, 2012 at 6:23 pm

  113. Ambre Falls

    Beautiful birds…especially snowy white Arc!

    February 21, 2012 at 8:04 pm

  114. These photos are absolutely stunning! Always had an interest in falconry, though it’s been a long forgotten one, and you’ve inspired me to search for an organization in my area so I may learn more. Excellent post and congratulations on being Freshly Pressed!

    February 21, 2012 at 9:08 pm

  115. All I can say is…Wow! Absolutely adorable!Great captured photos, so stunning! Keep it coming..I am now following!

    February 21, 2012 at 9:26 pm

  116. Pingback: 15 OTHER BLOGGERS UNIQUE VOICES – 22.2.12 « Horiwood's Blog

  117. Beautiful! Congratulations on being Freshly Pressed!

    February 22, 2012 at 12:12 am

  118. makes me wanna get into it, thanks mayte!

    February 22, 2012 at 12:23 am

  119. Birds of prey are so fascinating to me! Thank you for sharing these amazing pictures!!

    February 22, 2012 at 12:47 am

  120. Reblogged this on crisp clean clear and commented:
    very nice

    February 22, 2012 at 1:13 am

  121. Violet

    Awesome birds!!

    February 22, 2012 at 2:19 am

  122. Lovely – you’ve captured so much detail.

    I’m not sure if you’re into pigeon racing, but it’s a big sport in Spain where they paint all the birds bright colours. Makes great photography when their multi-colour bodies flash against a bright blue sky.

    February 22, 2012 at 4:20 am

  123. lensaddiction

    Some fantastic shots of amazing birds. What an opportunity. The Gyrfalcon is beautiful, have you got any nice full body shots of him? I count myself lucky I got to see some raptors in Australia last year at Currumbin and Australia Zoo. Both do free flight shows and hold the birds and give short talks at the end and will pose for photos. I also got some great shots of the Australian Wedgetailed Eagle, a large and intimidating creature.

    Look forward to heaing more of your day 🙂

    February 22, 2012 at 5:07 am

  124. Great work! I had a wedgetailed eagle land right next to me at a nature sanctuary near Melbourne. It was quite something! Such amazing birds!

    February 22, 2012 at 5:46 am

  125. Excellent pics of flying predators. Only a fellow hunter can truly appreciate the beauty, efficiency, skill, and deadliness of these creatures, who always eat what they kill. Lucky rabbits, indeed!!

    February 22, 2012 at 6:06 am

  126. VITTORIO BANDA

    ALI

    I put my thoughts to a pair of wings
    to make it fly away from all human bad.
    As the only baggage I made love,
    from store in the depths of the old heart.

    There will never, my love, forget
    will cease and not ever in my life you think.
    Please, close your eyes and still kiss me
    until they reach a new dawn.

    Victor Banda
    COPYRIGHT 2009

    February 22, 2012 at 6:24 am

  127. great shots..Beautiful birds

    February 22, 2012 at 6:58 am

  128. Talitha

    Reblogged this on My Favorite Spaces.

    February 22, 2012 at 10:12 am

  129. Reblogged this on finnegan2749.

    February 22, 2012 at 11:01 am

  130. Impressive photos! . . . Falconry is very big here in Qatar and the general region! Fascinating to find out there is a Falconers Association in Virginia. I didn’t realize, even after having lived in northern Virginia for 17 years!

    http://arabianmusings.wordpress.com/

    February 22, 2012 at 11:09 am

  131. Raptors are some of the most beautiful birds and the stunning photographs do them total justice. Absolutely loved your blog and will be following it keenly. Thank you.

    Congratulations on Freshly Pressed!

    February 22, 2012 at 2:07 pm

  132. Very cool photos. And I’m not sure why but this whole post makes me think of Harry Potter. How’s that for a weird connection?

    February 22, 2012 at 2:15 pm

  133. GREAT 🙂

    February 23, 2012 at 9:51 am

  134. I think this is one of the most elegant subjects to cover with words or photos! Birds of prey are amazing and so elegant! My sister trained in falconry and it is incredible what they do and how the birds develop a relationship with their trainer! Keep at it – I would certainly come back to read more posts about this topic!!

    February 24, 2012 at 11:51 am

  135. Pingback: Links from around THE WORLD « WayfaringStranger in a StrangeLand

  136. Pingback: Of Falcons and Falconry « Abingdon Outdoors

  137. Prachtige vogel…….

    February 29, 2012 at 7:06 pm

  138. SissyQuill

    A new fan. Thank you!

    February 29, 2012 at 11:23 pm

  139. Reblogged this on techniquecolor and commented:
    Amazing. Those eyes are enchanting. There is absolutely something about these hawks that enchant me endlessly.

    March 1, 2012 at 10:25 pm

Leave a Reply

