Words and Images from Ed Felker

Maryland Heights and Harpers Ferry

I’ve been trying to condition myself for some vigorous hiking when I get to Montana in a few months. But so far this summer those conditioning attempts have been mostly limited to buying new hiking boots and looking at pictures of Yellowstone National Park. So today, after having spent a couple days away, I thought I’d take Team Orange (my two Hungarian Wirehaired Vizslas, for those of you not already familiar) on a nice hike.

The Maryland Heights hike has two variations. The shorter, red trail ends up at an amazing vista overlooking the town of Harpers Ferry, WV and the confluence of the Potomac and Shenandoah rivers. The longer, blue trail is much less crowded, more difficult and has a lot of neat Civil War history with educational markers along the way. I planned on doing both this morning, but by the time we got to the overlook, each of the dogs drank an entire bottle of water and I didn’t have enough water for them to tack on the longer trail.

Here you can see the town of Harpers Ferry. Note the clearer Shenadoah (from top of photo) running into the muddy Potomac (right to left).

What a view from the top! Taken from Maryland, the photo shows West Virginia on the right, and Virginia on the left.

Team Orange enjoying the view.

I can’t explain why I love this picture, I just do.

The Yin and Yang of dog tongues, on the bridge over the C&O Canal.

The view doesn’t suck from the bottom, either.

These dogs are my shadows, I genuinely enjoy their company.

Okay, most of the time.

18 responses

  1. Man, this kind of makes me feel inadequate, reading it from the position of sitting on my ass in a comfy chair in the studio. Good for you, Ed – I hope Montana goes great; and this is awesome in the meantime.

    June 3, 2012 at 3:34 pm

    • Hey thanks! I feel really blessed to have places like this within fifteen minutes of our house. There is no shortage of beautiful places in which to get exercise around here. There is, too often, a shortage of motivation however. But my goal, Montana, is only three months away!

      June 3, 2012 at 4:24 pm

  2. Great shots! Love the colors and clarity, glad the camera behaved for you. Helps that it was so clear out today too. You gotta let me know when you do another one of these hikes, me and Luna want to tag along! Hiking is always more fun with others (least for me since I walk so much by myself already) I am all for going on the early end too to beat the crowds. Love the panos of this place too, mine did not turn out last time so I would love to go back and get another. It would be a neat place to do a pano series of.
    Anna
    http://www.akginspiration.com

    June 3, 2012 at 4:37 pm

    • Will do, Anna. I might do it the next two weekends, though I don’t yet know if it’d be Saturday or Sunday. I’ll let you know!

      June 3, 2012 at 6:40 pm

  3. Awesome photos! I love those dogs.

    June 3, 2012 at 5:07 pm

  4. lensaddiction

    Love Team Orange 🙂 Great pix, look forward to seeing what Montana brings

    June 3, 2012 at 6:03 pm

    • Thanks very much! I’m glad you enjoyed these, and I hope I can get some special pics in Big Sky Country. Though, to be honest, that place makes any photographer look good!

      June 3, 2012 at 6:42 pm

  5. What wonderful puppy shots ! I bet the loved being out on the trail with you this weekend. it really was perfect hiking weather. Maryland Heights is where I blew out my knee back in January. Next time I’ll not look at the scenery while walking.

    June 3, 2012 at 10:13 pm

    • Oh man! I bet it was on that rocky part of the trail just below the crest on the red trail, the footing is a little shaky! The downhill trip is definitely much tougher on the knees than the uphill.

      June 4, 2012 at 9:06 am

      • I wished ! Nope, it was a regular rock step that had a small patch of ice on it that I didn’t see. I was mesmerized by the view of the church steeple…

        June 4, 2012 at 1:07 pm

  6. Great shots! Your dogs look great. I’ve been trying to condition for hikes too. Maryland Heights looks great. I’ll have to take a trip one day.

    June 4, 2012 at 12:13 am

  7. I like team orange! My son and his girlfriend have a smooth Vizsla. He’s a wonderful dog! The photos are lovely, and no, I have never seen Harpers Ferry. I enjoyed the view! Debra

    June 4, 2012 at 1:50 am

  8. Great shots! What a walk with these two amazing creatures!

    June 4, 2012 at 3:40 am

  9. Thanks for the pics! My husband and son did part of the AT last summer. They started in Harper’s Ferry, but didn’t get photos like these.

    June 4, 2012 at 11:45 am

  10. Beautiful dogs! I love how their personality really shines through in the photographs 🙂

    June 5, 2012 at 1:07 am

Leave a Reply

