Words and Images from Ed Felker

2012: My Year in Photos

IMG_0117 - 2012-04-15 at 10-13-28
My favorite photos from this year feature more birds than dogs, surprisingly, and more dogs than people, not surprisingly. The picture above, a wild brook trout being released into the cold, winter waters of Cedar Run in Shenandoah National Park early this year, is my favorite. Holding a slippery trout in one hand while operating a DSLR with the other is a low percentage proposition. But luck is a big part of photography. At least it is in my photography. The best of the rest of 2012 are below, in no particular order.

IMG_0005 - 2012-04-20 at 08-11-34
This misty photo of the so called Platform was one of the most popular images I shared on facebook this year. In fact, a few friends now have the print hanging in their homes, which is a great honor to me. This grownup tree fort is one of my very favorite places, a sanctuary in the truest sense of the word.

IMG_0010 - 2012-01-06 at 08-32-15
I chased this impossibly vibrant sunrise around for a half hour before work one morning, looking for an interesting foreground to silhouette against it. When I came across this tree with a group of black vultures perched in it, I hurried to get this shot as the fleeting, red was fading with each passing moment.

IMG_0012 - 2012-02-18 at 09-45-42
The blog post that featured photos from the falconry event I attended was featured on the WordPress ‘Freshly Pressed’ page, an incredible honor that brought many new viewers to this blog. Welcome and thank you to those who still follow from first seeing it there.

IMG_0016 - 2012-02-05 at 12-02-49
Something about grey, snowy days make me want to capture them with the camera, but it’s challenging. I’m really going to put an effort into photographing some winter scenes this year.

IMG_0017 - 2012-02-05 at 14-34-12
We are lucky enough to see bald eagles regularly where we live, but they are hard to get good pictures of without a zoom lens. I got lucky as I had borrowed a nice lens from a friend and had it when this eagle came around. Taken from our back yard in Virginia, that is the town of Brunswick, Maryland across the river in the background. I’m happy to report that my wife got me a 75-300 lens for Christmas! So look for more eagles and other wildlife pics in the future!

IMG_0017 - 2012-06-05 at 09-01-40
A brown thrasher sits on her nest protected by the thorns of a lemon tree at Rose River Farm in Madison County, Virginia.

IMG_0022 - 2012-04-20 at 08-18-03
None of my photos are technically perfect. But sometimes they are so flawed that they become interesting in a more abstract way than was originally intended.

IMG_0028 - 2012-02-24 at 19-49-09
Low light photography is equal parts fascinating and frustrating to me, and extremely rewarding when it works out. This is an evening shot from our place looking out over the Potomac River.

IMG_0033 - 2012-04-17 at 10-09-38
I wrote a blog post I’m pretty proud of about the space shuttle Discovery and what it meant to be present for this historic event. You can read that post here.

IMG_0038 - 2012-08-17 at 11-06-12
Oddly, my favorite photo from the Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum shows neither water, nor a boat.

IMG_0041 - 2012-02-08 at 17-37-04
I have better pictures of ducks, and better pictures of snow. But I love the mood of this picture of ducks in snow, taken at my next door neighbor’s pond.

IMG_0047 - 2012-06-26 at 18-23-26
Same pond, different time of year. Here a green heron is chased by a female wood duck as they both try to escape a clod without a zoom lens trying to get close enough to take their picture.

IMG_0051 - 2012-01-22 at 10-04-57
This is one of those technically flawed, lucky shots that turned out nicely. I was unaware as I was composing the photo in the viewfinder, that the balcony rail was aligned with the line in the background where the snowy foreground meets the woods. The result is an interesting effect, I think. I’m surprised at how many of my favorite shots came on less than pleasant weather days.

IMG_0051 - 2012-04-20 at 08-35-07
These amazing miniature donkeys are hard to photograph in the same way puppies are: They are affectionate and curious about the camera, so by the time you get down to their level, they’re in your face wondering what you’re doing and if you have any treats.

IMG_0054 - 2012-02-26 at 12-35-09
The Virginia State Police would surely be alarmed to know how many photos I have tried to take of my dogs in the rear view mirror. This is a challenge while parked, never mind while driving. But I love this one of Finn and remember exactly the day I took it because that’s my 3-weight Scott fly rod in the rack. We were on our way to the Rapidan.

float1 - 2012-06-10 at 17-46-22
I love this photo of Winnie, taken on a summer kayak outing. You’ve seen a cropped version of it before, it serves as the masthead image for this blog, but I thought the entire image warranted extra mention here.

IMG_0069 - 2012-09-14 at 11-15-27
My first, hopefully of many, trip to Yellowstone National Park was a life changing event. It is an extraordinary, magical place I will never forget, and a place I will long to return to more each day until I drive through its gates again.

IMG_0070 - 2012-02-11 at 10-29-53
Another gloomy, blue-grey day, in the woods near our house.

IMG_0076 - 2012-03-10 at 13-52-22
Ever tried to take one picture of four dogs? It’s not easy, but I’m really happy with this one. Clockwise from top left: Finn, Petey, Monkey and Winnie.

IMG_0082 - 2012-05-03 at 22-49-55
2012 had a few amazing lightning shows. I was lucky enough to capture this strike from our deck. The rain had stopped but the lightning continued for more than an hour, the perfect opportunity to try to capture it.

IMG_0092 - 2012-08-17 at 12-50-45
I love this little bird, walking on his tiptoes on a sun bleached dock at St. Michael’s, Maryland.

IMG_0123 - 2012-09-14 at 21-29-07
A bull elk bugles in Yellowstone. I had never seen elk before this day, nor heard their bugle. I was very lucky to capture this on the first day I experienced both.

IMG_0138 (1)
My friend Anna and I stood in the bitter cold trying to capture a meteor from the Geminid shower in December. This was one of the brightest of the night.

IMG_0157 - 2012-09-15 at 19-34-59
Driving on a Montana highway, when we saw this amazing old car with a tree growing out of the roof, my friend Joel turned the car around so I could get some pictures of it.

IMG_0226 - 2012-10-06 at 17-59-02
We had the privilege of attending a local Mexican Rodeo, an incredibly fun day immersed in culture, food, drink and awesome people.

IMG_0370 - 2012-05-27 at 13-13-44
In Washington, DC for Memorial Day and the mind blowing Rolling Thunder rally, I took hundreds of photos. But I like this one best.

IMGP0095 - 2012-05-01 at 19-03-22
Fun with dogs, fly rods and waterproof cameras. I’m fascinated by the turbulence in the water and how the camera captured it.

Maybe my favorite of the night. It was great to watch (and photograph) these with the reflection on the Potomac. - 2012-07-02 at 22-09-07
Another low light image I’m pretty happy with. This was taken from our yard, my guess is probably some time in early July.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Nature is full of surprises. Who knew butterflies looked like this close up? Not me!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Finn and I are similar swimmers. We dog paddle, poorly, and never open our eyes under water.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Another accidental photo I ended up liking. While fishing for smallmouth, I wasn’t paying attention to my camera settings. I had it set on macro, so it kept trying to zoom in and focus closely. I couldn’t get a shot of the entire fish, but I love the textures of the fish and water here.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
It was hard to choose one photo from Slough Creek in Yellowstone. Simply the most beautiful place I have ever had the honor of being. We hiked in about six miles to get there, and the moment we arrived, I was sad at the thought of having to leave it later.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Hiking with ‘Team Orange,’ my two Wirehaired Vizslas, has been a recurring joy this year. But I seldom come back from a hike with a photo of them I’m crazy about. This is an exception.

tractorsky
On the same night as the meteor shower, I captured this peaceful image of a vintage tractor, quietly rusting beneath the winter sky.

4 responses

  1. Great retrospective! I still love the photo of Winnie in the kayak best!

    December 26, 2012 at 3:26 pm

  2. Amazing photos all! You capture some really amazing moments. I love the one of the Bison crossing the road in Yellowstone. It’s great to see them–again! 🙂

    December 27, 2012 at 1:41 am

  3. Tammy

    So beautiful, I can’t pick one favorite! Thanks for sharing – just gorgeous!

    December 27, 2012 at 8:27 am

  4. Ummm……..WOW!

    January 13, 2013 at 2:00 am

Leave a Reply

